```
"Carlos Varandas" <cvarandas@ipfn.ist.utl.pt>
From
Subject Nominations for the SOFT IOC
Date
                  Thu, November 4, 2010 11:52 am
                  \hbox{\it ``i'A. Sternberg'''} < stern@latnet.lv>, \hbox{\it `'i'A.GALKOWSKI'''} < andrzej.galkowski@ipplm.pl>, \hbox{\it ''i'A.PIZZUTO'''} < andrzej.galkowski@ipplm.pl>, \hbox{\it ''i'A.PIZZUTO''''} < andrzej.galkowski@ipplm.pl>, \hbox{\it ''i'A.PIZZUTO'''} < andrzej.galkowski@ipplm.pl>, \hbox{\it ''i'A.PIZZUTO''''} < andrzej.galkowski@ipplm.pl. < andrzej.galkowski@ipplm.pl. < andrzej.galkowski@ipplm.pl. < andrzej.galkowski@ipplm.pl. < andrzej.galkowski@ipplm.pl. < andrzej.galkows
To
                    <pizzuto@frascati.enea.it>,"'AVersteegh'" <versteegh@nrg.eu>,"'DCarati'"
                    <dcarati@ulb.ac.be>,"'E.USPURAS "" <uspuras@mail.lei.lt>,"'F.SPINEANU""
                    <spineanu@ifin.nipne.ro>,"'FGnesotto'" < gnesotto@igi.pd.cnr.it>,"'G.HASINGER'"
                    <guenther.hasinger@ipp.mpg.de>,"'G.MARBACH""
                    <gabriel.marbach@cea.fr>,"'H.Weber'" <weber@ati.ac.at>,"'J. RASMUSSEN'"
                    <jjra@risoe.dtu.dk>,"'J. Sanchez'" <joaquin.sanchez@ciemat.es>,"'J. SULTANA
                    " <joseph.sultana@um.edu.mt>,"J.DRAKE" <james.drake@alfvenlab.kth.se>,"K
                    HESCH" <klaus.hesch@kit.edu>,"'KHIZANIDIS" <kyriakos@central.ntua.gr>,"'M.
                    VAN SCHOOR'" <michael.van.schoor@rma.ac.be>,"'M.CERCEK "
                    <milan.cercek@ijs.si>,"'M.Lontano'" <lontano@ifp.cnr.it>,"'M.TURNER ""
                    <miles.turner@dcu.ie>,"'MKIISK'" <madisk@fi.tartu.ee>,"'MTran'"
                    <minhquang.tran@epfl.ch>,"'P.PAVLO'" <pavlo@ipp.cas.cz>,"'R.MASCHUW'"
                    <reinhard.maschuw@fusion.fzk.de>,"'S.COWLEY'" <steve.cowley@ukaea.org.uk>,"'S.Karttunen'"
                    <seppo.karttunen@vtt.fi>,"'S.KASSINOS "" <kassinos@ucy.ac.cy>,"'S.MATEJCIK"
                    <Stefan.Matejcik@fmph.uniba.sk>,"'SZoletnik" <zoletnik@rmki.kfki.hu>,"'T.
                   TROEV " <troev@inrne.bas.bg>,"'TDonne'" <donne@rijnh.nl>,"'USamm'" <u.samm@fz-
                  juelich.de>,"'V. MASSAUT"" <vincent.massaut@sckcen.be>
```

## Dear Colleague

As you know, each Symposium on Fusion Technology (SOFT) is organized by one Euratom Association under the scientific and technical responsibility of the International Organizing Committee (IOC). For instance, SOFT-2010 was organized by the Association Euratom/IST, while SOFT-2012 will be held in Liege organized by the Belgium Euratom Association.

This IOC is composed by thirteen members chosen by the previous IOC taking into account the requirement of complementarity between the expertise of the acting members of IOC and the nominations presented by the Euratom Associations. Vincent Massaut will be the Chair of the SOFT-2012 International Organizing Committee.

Following the SOFT Rules, four members of the present IOC will leave the committee in the end of the forthcoming meeting of the IOC, which will be on December 10<sup>th</sup>, 2010, in Lisboa. The IOC considers that after the departure of these colleagues it would be beneficial to have more expertise on fuel cycle, blankets, magnets, socio-economics, industrial relations and inertial fusion.

Taking into account the content of the previous paragraphs, I would appreciate very much if you could send me **by November 19<sup>th</sup> 2010** nominations for the SOFT International Organizing Committee, if possible of colleagues with expertise in the above mentioned areas. The proposals should include the name of the candidate and a half-page presentation note.

Best regards.

Carlos Varandas.

Chair of the SOFT-2010 International Organizing Committee